Year of the Volunteer Challenge Update

This week, I’ve made some progress towards the year of the volunteer challenge.

Specifically, I’ve had a go at Yoga, one of the Active “try it” challenges.

One of the yoga centres in Bristol has recently changed management and they were having a week of free trial sessions.  As I was intending to try it anyway, I naturally jumped on that opportunity!

The lesson was an hour long and was hatha yoga.  For those of you who are not yoga experts (which I imagine is most of you!) that’s one of the slower and more gentle versions of yoga.  Lots of stretching, breath awareness and guided relaxation.

It was an interesting experience.  I’m not sure that I want to take it up as a hobby, even if I had time, but I’m glad I tried it.

The stretching in particular I found helpful.  I do a little stretching most days already – it counteracts sitting at a desk all day and the muscle tightening that happens as a result of cycling so much.  However doing the longer period, and not rushing it, did make me feel good.  I think I will attempt to put some longer stretching sessions into my routine a couple of days a week.

This weekend I plan to do the Personal Development challenge, which was to think about where I want to be in 5, 10 and 20 years time.  I think the longer time period will be particularly difficult.  I sometimes struggle to remember that I’m an adult, so to think about things that will happen when I’m in my 50s is… odd.

Depending on how the thinking goes, I may or may not share some of the results with you.

In other news, here’s a picture of some cakes decorated by some Guides.  I popped in to their meeting to get a cheque signed and couldn’t resist taking a look at what they were doing!

 

Leave a Reply

