Legoland

Standard

Look at this.  Not even four weeks in to the Year of the Volunteer challenge, and already I’m behind on blogging.  In my defence, it’s because I’ve been very busy with Guiding things!


At the start of April, my Guides and I went on a trip with some of our friends.

A lot of our friends.

We had two coach loads just from our Division, and when we got there, one of the Guides couldn’t believe there were so many Guides in the country.

She was slightly startled when I pointed out that this was a South West Region trip, so there were only Guides there from a tenth of the country.

We then had an entertaining conversation about the fact that, no, I personally had not organised this many people. Flattering though it is that they think I’m superwoman, I’m not crazy enough to try organising a Region level event just yet!

Anyway, I digress.

Thinking about it, that happened a lot during the day, too.

We were at Legoland.

During the day, we went on rides, enthused over tiny lego castles and Houses of Parliament and Gherkins (for those of you who aren’t from the UK, the Gherkin is a building in London, not a pickled vegetable), ate doughnuts and ice cream and talked almost non stop.

Lego!

It was an excellent day, and I really enjoyed interacting with the Guides in a situation where I wasn’t trying to get them to clean up their messes! Much less stressful!

I very much recommend going on trips with Guides. You get to see a whole other side to their personalities.

Have you been on any good trips lately?

Leave a Reply

