Explore-a-dome

Tonight we had a visit from a giant silver dome.

IMG_6577.JPG

It was so big, in fact, that we had to move to a larger hall for the evening. We had some trouble finding a hall close by that was free at the right time, but we didn’t want to change the time so that all those girls with busy lives could come.

I haven’t mentioned yet what was inside the dome.

IMG_6579.JPG

Darkness. And Brownies. And stars. Millions and millions of stars. The explorer dome is a mobile planetarium.

IMG_6583.JPG

Yes, I know that’s not a star.

The two people running the show were amazing. They told stories, and gave information, and kept the girls interested through about 40-45 minutes of star show.

I learnt a few new stories, too. For example, I didn’t know that Ursa Major is a lady bear. I’d always assumed it was a boy. But she’s Callisto, the mistress of Zeus. When Hera (Zeus’s wife) found out about the affair she turned Callisto into a bear.

Callisto’s son is Ursa Minor. He was an archer and was hunting in the woods. He almost killed his mother (because a bear trying to say hello is pretty scary), but Zeus turned him into a bear at the last minute. Then he put both of them in the sky so they could be together forever.

If I do the stargazer badge enough times, perhaps I’ll learn all of the stories!

6 thoughts on “Explore-a-dome

    1. We shared the cost with a local Rainbow unit (5-7 yr olds), and they all loved it too. I think as long as you have a presenter who knows how to talk to different ages, anyone can enjoy planetariums!

  1. Yay, I love a planetarium! I remember on my first Guide camp, we had to choose which activity to do the next day, and I stuck my hand straight up really high for the planetarium…then looked around and realised no one else had put their hands up. Their loss! It’s been too long since I’ve been to one – I should gauge interest among my Guides for next term.

Leave a Reply

