Science Fun for All

On Saturday I stepped a little out of my comfort zone.  I attended a Rainbow science event.

(For those not in the UK, Rainbows are the section of Girlguiding aged 5-7.)

I normally avoid Rainbows.  They are small, and needy, and don’t speak in proper English.  And can’t discuss philosophy.

But one of the Rainbow leaders was going to a wedding, so I went along to help balance the numbers.

It got off to a fun start, with the other leader (who not only does Rainbows each week, but also has a Rainbow-aged daughter, so understands them much better!) getting stuck in traffic and so being late.

Fortunately, all the girls who were coming have older sisters in Brownies, and the Brownie sisters had come as Rainbow Helpers.  So I wasn’t alone, and did actually recognise all of the parents I had to interact with!

The event was being run by our Division (so, potentially, 8 Rainbow units).  I think there were around 80-90 children there in all.  There were five or six stations set up around the room, and we all took turns doing all of the experiments.

There were liquid Rainbows, elephant toothpaste, and sort-of-chromatography:

20140609-201109-72669961.jpg

 

Not to mention blowing bubbles, and some fizzy artwork done with baking soda and citric acid:

20140609-201432-72872643.jpg

 

I think it surprised me actually, how few of the Rainbows asked why something worked.  I’m used to the Brownies and their incessant questioning, whereas the Rainbows just seemed to accept it all.

 

It was, generally, a fun couple of hours.  I got to do some interesting science experiments, some of which I hadn’t come across before.  And it wasn’t as bad as I was expecting from a small-child perspective.  The girls who came were slightly more independent than I was expecting, and not nearly as needy.

All in all, not the worst way to spend an afternoon.  I would do it again if the Rainbows needed me.

I still prefer Brownies, though.

3 thoughts on “Science Fun for All

  1. Tiny people really are tiny. The first unit I joined as an adult and prospective leader was a 5-10 year old unit. It was the only one that needed help, despite my original enquiry being about looking for a Rangers group to help at, or at a pinch, a Guide unit…
    The unit had teeny little 5 year olds who held your hand and climbed into your lap, and thought it was totally understandable to argue over who got to be next to the leader!! Eeeep!! I did get used to it, but after a few years out of practice, I now look at the 6 and 7 year olds in my mixed age group and think “wow you are LITTLE”, and “hmmm there’s probably a reason you looked shocked when I handed you a sharp knife…”

Leave a Reply

