Birthdays Galore

Today is a very special day.  There are two birthdays to celebrate.*

Firstly, today I am 20 years old.  Or 100,000.  It depends on your base.  Virtual cookies to the first person to tell me my age in decimal notation.**  Bonus points to those who tell me what base the two numbers above are in.

Secondly, this blog is now a whole year old.

One of the very first pictures on this blog.
One of the very first pictures on this blog – Brownies in ten years time.

I almost can’t believe that I managed to find that many things to talk about, but I guess that’s what happens if you comment on life.  It just keeps happening.

Top Posts

I thought I’d have a look back at some of the highlights and most popular posts from the last year.  WordPress has a handy little stats page which tells me all sorts of interesting things.

By far and away the post with the most views has been “New to Guiding: How to Get a Brownie Name“, which has racked up a steady average of 3-4 views every day this year.

Does that mean that lots of people want to have Brownie names, implying that perhaps they want to join Girlguiding?  I hope so!

The Brownie Song Book” isn’t far behind, but the relatively new “Resources to Download” page is catching up quickly – it’s only been up for a couple of months and it’s already getting a lot of views.

I think my personal favourite, although it’s not had as many views as some, has been the series of Monday Musings on the Guide Law.  I found it quite fun to really dig into what the Guide Law means, and figure out whether I was actually keeping to it or not.

Searching

Some of the other entertaining things the WordPress Stats page tells me include search terms that people have used to find the blog.

“Promise bunting” and “brownie leader names” seem sensible, and I had a couple from “brownie girlguiding leader blog”, but there are some more entertaining ones too.

“Koala brownie name” and “leaders are like snowflakes” appear in the list, as does the highly specific “all of the reindeers are sick what is another way to deliver presents?”, which can only have led to this post.

International

I’ve had views from 68 different countries, albeit most of them only once.  The UK, the US, Canada and Australia are my biggest fans.

Screen Shot 2014-05-05 at 12.03.13

Over to You

I’ve got 120 posts on this site.  Which ones are your favourites?  Let me know in the comments.

* Actually, four, if you count P and E, who share my birthday.  Happy birthday to them too!

** Those present at my birth, or currently living with me, are excluded from this competition on the grounds that they don’t have to do any maths to figure it out.  Sorry!

5 thoughts on “Birthdays Galore

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

