January Goal Report

Standard

We’re taking a break from mythology this week, because it’s the end of the month, and I promised to update people on my 2014 goals.

I feel like I’ve achieved a lot this month.  It’s amazing what a bit of focus can do.

Work: Qualify as an Actuary

I’ve taken to hiding away and studying at lunchtimes, which is going really well.  Over the 22 working days this month I’ve managed 21 hours of study that way.  The only day I missed was the day my boss decided to reward the team for a job well done by taking us out to lunch.

I’ve been doing some in the evenings and weekends too, of course.  I’ve been doing a lot of question practice as well as reading over the course notes, and I feel like I’m improving.  There’s still a long way to go, though, so this goal is definitely continuing.

Family: Active Homeostasis

No complaints here.  With studying at work I’m not cutting into my husband-time too much, and I’ve been keeping up with the rest of my family as much as normal.

Guiding: Provide Good Guiding

The main achievement here is our team planning meeting.  I blogged before about the Big Brownie Birthday Sleepover, but what I didn’t mention was that before hand I had all the leaders around to my house for dinner and planning.

It was good to spend some time with them socially, with no children around.  I love the children, but it’s hard to build proper team spirit if you never get to talk to the other leaders!

Other Good Guiding achievements: the girls picked this term’s activities (decision-making and planning), and we’ve been on a sleepover (going away).  I’m not sure whether to count that one, since the planning all happened last year!

Shorinji Kempo: Learn the techniques on my next syllabus

I’ve gone through the first two gradings – 5th Kyu and 4th Kyu – and checked that I remember all of the techniques.  As a bonus I taught a 4th Kyu technique to someone who didn’t know it before.

Blogging: Three posts a week

Done.  Not much else to say about that.  I’m enjoying it!

Reading: 52 books in the year

According to Goodreads, I’ve read 2 books, which puts me behind schedule.  I’m not surprised – I’ve been concentrating on the studying.  I’ll read more later in the year.

So all in all, I’d say January has been pretty successful.  I hope February continues this trend!

How is your 2014 going so far?

4 thoughts on “January Goal Report

  1. Guiding hasn’t really started back yet for me (had one Rangers meeting, but main unit doesn’t start till this week, so can’t really comment on achievement or otherwise of Guide Goals!
    Life goals though: have *actually* been going to the gym 2-3 times a week, and have also been trying at least one new recipe per week. So, on track!

Leave a Reply

